flag of North Carolina ALHN logo flag of North Carolina

Short History and Place Names for Wilkes County, NC

Short History

Created from Surry County and the "district of Washington" in what later became Tennessee in 1777. Wilkes County was named after John Wilkes who was a member of the English Parliament that fought for America's Independence. The first settlers of the area in present-day Wilkes County were primarily German and Scot-Irish immigrants.

The first court of the county was briefly held in the home of John Brown. In 1778, the court moved to the "bent of the Yadkin [River]" and later the same year, it met in the Mulberry Field Meeting House. In June of 1778, commissioners appointed to find a permanent place for the county courthouse, prison, and stocks decided that the location of the Mulberry Field Meeting House was the most central location and thereby the best location for the courthouse. In 1801, Wilkesborough became the first town layed out and in 1825, the courthouse was moved to Wilkesborough.

Boundary and Boundary Changes

Counties surrounding present-day Wilkes County include Alexander (1847), Alleghany (1859), Ashe (1799), Caldwell (1841), Iredell (1788), Surry (1771), Watauga (1849), and Yadkin (1850).

In 1799, Wilkes gave up part of it's northwestern corner and northern borders to create Ashe County. The southwest border of Wilkes Co. was used to create Caldwell County in 1841. In 1847, it's southern border was given up to create Alexander County. Finally, in 1849, part of the western borders were given up to create Watauga County.

Places in Wilkes County

Map of Wilkes County, NC
Image created by: Ruhrfisch

Below are a list of the towns and townships within Wilkes County. Not all those places listed are on the map above. I've only been able to find more information for a few of places listed below

Above information gleaned from a variety of sources, including the following:

Back to Wilkes County